Made from a mixture of proteins from animal parts including bones, skin, ligaments, hooves, and organs. The mixture is boiled with water to produce a colorless, odorless, and flavorless substance that when cooled forms a jelly-like substance. Generally made from pigs, cows, fish or horses.
Gelatin is made from animals and is avoided by vegetarians and vegans. Muslims and Jews may require gelatin from non-pig sources. Hindu customs may require non-cow sources. Alternatives include: agaragar and carrageenan. Although gelatin is mainly protein, it lacks several essential amino acids and therefore has less nutritional value than other protein sources. A study in 1998 determined that the use of a gelatin supplement had a positive effect on joint pain and stiffness in athletes.
Jello, pudding, fruit gelatin, jelly, marshmallows, ice cream, sausage casing, cottage cheese, frozen desserts, custard, pie filling, gummy candy, yogurt, jelly beans, jam, coatings on vitamins & supplements
Possible Health Effects
Studies conducted on the side effects of vaccinations indicate that some reactions (fever, injection site reactions, anaphylaxis) may be caused by a gelatin allergy. Also see additional information section.
May cause allergic reaction in sensitive individuals
Copyright September 7, 2010 Be Food Smart
Simply click one of the grades below to get a listing of all ingredients with that grade