Rennet is a complex of enzymes (rennin or chymosin) that are extracted from the lining of a calf stomach and used for curdling milk in cheese making.
Rennin and Chymosin are the specific enzymes and are of animal origin. There are available vegetable rennets
Cheese, junket, cheddar cheese, cream cheese, cottage cheese, sour cream
Possible Health Effects
May be Genetically Engineered or Modified, May be of Animal Origin
Because of a lack of calf stomachs needed for the production of rennet, cheese makers have long sought a source of rennet that was more readily available. Today, many forms of rennet can be made from microbial sources and could then possibly be genetically engineered.
Copyright November 6, 2012 Be Food Smart
Simply click one of the grades below to get a listing of all ingredients with that grade